comment 1

Gluten-Free Banana Pumpkin Cornmeal Pancakes

IMG_1489

After Sunday’s breakfast I owe a big thank you to my dear uncle. When I was in high school he used to make pancakes for breakfast every day. Eventually he reduced it to every Sunday, (moderation is key) a tradition which I still try to uphold. These are the best pancakes you’ve ever had. He adapted the recipe to be vegan (just for me!) and taught me how to make pancakes before I left for college. Since then I love to make Sunday morning pancakes for family and housemates while thinking of my uncle in Maine doing the same thing.

Over the years, I’ve changed the recipe a bit. I have a few different versions, but typically I like to add bananas for flavor and ground flaxseed to help it all stick together.

IMG_1484

Baggins’ Vegan Gluten-Free Pancakes

Dry Ingredients:
1 well-rounded cup fine cornmeal
1 1/2 well-rounded cups quick oats
½ teaspoon salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda

Wet Ingredients:
1/2 cup soaked flaxseeds
2-3 bananas
1 1/2 cups non-dairy milk
½ cup melted coconut oil
½ cup maple syrup (may use part
blackstrap molasses)

In a large bowl, mix dry ingredients together well. In a blender, blend flaxseeds. Add bananas, milk, oil, syrup, and blend. Pour wet into dry and fold very gently together. Let stand for 15 – 20 minutes. Add more cornmeal or quick oats as needed. Ladle onto preheated (low heat) and lightly oiled griddle. Flip when edges start to dry. Flip only once. Serves 4 – 6. Half or double batches work just as well.

Turns out we did not have flaxseed and we did have pumpkin that needed to be used. So I just started putting things in a bowl, it wasn’t quite the same as my usual recipe but, yum. Plus because these are sort of cornbread-like I reheated them in the oven the next night when I made a sweet potato chili.

I highly suggest topping these with a little coconut oil, maple syrup and pecans. Foodgasms for all.

IMG_1499

1 Comment so far

  1. Pingback: Recipes | bliss house

Leave a Reply

